The Rock Creek High School journalism classes are responsible for the production of the school newspaper, The Hoof Print, and the school yearbook, the Mustang. The publications can be contacted by e-mailing or by using the “Contact Us” form on this site.


Rock Creek offers two courses for journalism students – Introduction to Journalism and Graphic Design I/II for first-year students and Advanced Journalism and Digital Media Design for returning veterans. Both classes are approved courses in the Kansas Career and Technical Education (CTE) Audio/Visual Communications pathway.

Rock Creek High School’s student newspaper, The Hoof Print, is produced by students enrolled in the journalism classes.  The newspaper was reinvented and renamed The Hoof Print in the fall of 2008, and the print version was produced on a monthly basis throughout the school year.  In the fall of 2011, The Hoof Print launched in an online-only format at to better serve the Rock Creek High School community.

Rock Creek Junior/Senior High School’s student yearbook, the Mustang, is also produced by journalism students. Prior to the consolidation of St. George High School and Westmoreland High School, each high school had a separate yearbook, the Trojan and the Wildcat, respectively.  Upon consolidating as Rock Creek High School, the Mustang yearbook was formed.  In its 2010 volume, it expanded to include the junior high students, rather than producing a smaller, paperback book for the junior high school.  Since beginning to enter Kansas Scholastic Press Association contests in 2008-2009, the Mustang has been awarded the top award of All-Kansas in the KSPA’s critique contest for its 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2016 and 2018 editions and has earned the second highest honor of Award of Commendation for its 2013 and 2014 editions.

The Rock Creek Junior/Senior High School publications are part of an equal employment/educational opportunity agency.  USD 323 does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities.  The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies:
Superintendent of Schools
201 South 3rd St.
Westmoreland, Kan. 66549