News News Stories — 31 January 2013
News:  Yearbook receives honor from press association

To get an all-state honor throughout all four years of your high-school career is very unlikely and requires a lot of dedication and hard work. However, this is exactly what the Multimedia class, which produces the yearbook, has done.

The 2012 Mustang yearbook staff recently learned that it earned the All-Kansas award from the Kansas Scholastic Press Association for the fourth year in a row.

“I am proud of the yearbook,” last year’s editor-in-chief, graduate Katie Hodges, said, “and that we continued the All-Kansas streak.”

The All-Kansas award is based on a yearbook’s concept, coverage, design, photography and reporting. For every category, except photography, the staff earned the highest ranking of All-Kansas, while in photography, the staff received the second-highest ranking of Award of Commendation.

The judge for the critique, Cal Butcher, said, “If there is any weakness in your book, it’s the photography… the good ones often make the not-so-good ones stick out even more.”

Despite the criticism of photography in spots, Butcher said he liked that the “features are well-written, informative and interesting,” and he added that, “The design of this book is good, and your consistency is what makes it one of the best.”

Making up the yearbook staff last year were 2012 graduates Dylon Dunaway, Hodges, Dillon Johnston and Devin Muir; current seniors Sam King, Paige Nickell, Ryan Peckham and Mason Swenson; current juniors Jacob Milham and Marc Reiss; and current sophomore Kayla Huffman. Jessica Augustine-Stegman was the faculty adviser for the Multimedia classes.

“The pressure is on, and I’m nervous,” Nickell, who is co-editor-in-chief of this year’s yearbook, said. “It’s a big honor that I hope to continue.”

Article by Mason Swenson, Yearbook Co-Editor in Chief


Related Articles


About Author


(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.